Replacement for Epson 4000 Pro

Attn: Jon Cone

I am an artist who has been utilizing ImagOn light sensitive film for some 15 years in producing my art. (Samples of my work can be seen at https://www.instagram.com/printsbylarry/ or at www.printsbylarry.com)

An number of years ago I took a “Direct to Plate” course with Don Messec that was based on using ImagOn film and as a result having been using that process ever since.

I currently have an Epson Pro 4000 printer and only use the matte black channel in the printer using your ConeColor Pro K2 ink. I keep PiezioFlush in the other channels. Given the limit amount of time I use this “dated” printer, I find the matte black channel gets clogged easily and I am using considerable time (and frustration) keeping it functioning properly. I was hoping you might have a recommendation as to a more up-to-date printer that would be easier to maintain and could be set up to use just matte black when printing my plates. (I have considered switching to Solar Plates but they are three to four times more expensive than making plates with ImagOn.) Thanks in advance for any suggestions/recommendations you might have.

Larry

The P800 printer is what you need. Its pressurized unlike the 4000 and still does 17" and can even do direct to plate printing (no image-on needed).

This ink is the best for DTP (Don recommended):

Hi Walker,

Thanks for your suggestion. I not sure you fully understand my needs: 1. I must use ImagOn as that is what gets etched. 2. I must use matte black ink since the plate with ImagOn gets exposed to ultra-violet light and there can not be a “reflective” quality to the ink. So the question still hanging for me is will the 800 allow me to use just matte black when printing, like the 4000 will?

Thanks again for you help with my inquiry.

Larry Poole