Prints are Light as a Ghost

…perfect for Halloween…but not for too much longer hopefully!, ugh. Hi Dana! I’m an experienced Epson Pro 9800 user for 8 years now. I’ve made the switch to Cone color but not having any luck at all YET. Basically, Prints are coming out extremely light and just in the cyan range from what I can tell. I’m not getting any error messages other than the initial “unrecognizable cartridge” message upon first inserting which seems to disappear when I push pause or menu. All my refillable cartridges have been primed via the 10cc needle, etc., and all are refillabvle now except for 2 colors which are standard Epson and 1/2 full. I’ve executed 2 power cleans thus far and a nozzle print check which shows basically nothing. Oh, and I’m using LexJet “Print 'N Stick Fabric” on a 42" roll - which is new for me but looks and feels amazing. That’ all she wrote. Glad to have found you here. ~ Ben

Hi Ben~

If your nozzle checks show all eight channels aren’t printing, then it makes perfect sense that your prints are bad!

When were all channels fully/correctly printing? Did you print a nozzle check with Epson carts prior to installing the refillable carts?
What positions are printing on your nozzle check? Are the other positions printing any nozzles, or are they totally blank?
Have you been using this same 9800 printer for the past eight years? If so, when was it last serviced with new parts such as dampers, wiper blade, capping station, pump, flushing box, and/or print head?
Have you manually cleaned the printer’s capping station, wiper blade, flushing box and/or bottom of the print head?

I recommend you use regular typing to print nozzle checks until you get all channels printing- don’t waste your nice material for printing nozzle checks.

Please let me know so I can try to help.
Best regards~ Dana :slight_smile: