Preparing a 9900 for Piezography Pro

I have a used but well functioning 9900 that will be converted to Piezography Pro. I’m new to this machine but have had Piezography printers installed in a number of 9800s and 7800s. I want to get the 9900 into the best operating shape before the conversion. So…

Which head alignments are necessary? Uni-D, Bi-D, both? Is there an advantage to using gloss paper over the recommended Enhanced Matte? (With our Canon printers, it was recommended by Canon tech support to use glossy paper for head alignments).

I was thinking to replace the dampers while doing the 9900 conversion. (To my knowledge the previous owner hasn’t ever replaced the dampers). With our last 9800, installing new dampers when converting to Piezo seemed to keep the 9800 happy and clog free. With the 9900 installation, what is the optimal time to replace the dampers? Would it be after flushing the Epson ink out and letting the Piezoflush sit 24-48 hours, and before doing the init fill with Piezo Pro ink?

Thanks!

Starting with your last question - Epson thinks a year is optimal to replace the ink exchanger. If everyone did this annually, their printers would last longer. So no time like now. But if you are going to flush the printer, flush all the scaling pigment into the dampers - then replace them. You should perform the perfect nozzle test prior to replacing the dampers, and use damper replacement to verify that they are not the cause of any jets that will not clear. Always be verifying step by step.

Uni D is best because Uni D printing is best. I think that we use glossy paper too. It is just easier to read.

If you find that 9900 is hopeless - we can convert it to a 9 ink system instead of 11 and map out up to two bad channels!

hope this answered your question. Ask away if not!