P600 with IJM 60ml carts - Using Auto-reset Chips vs. Chipless Firmware

Newbie here. Started new topic because could not find much discussion of pro/con of driving chipless; just fair amount of frustration with the early-trip behavior forcing frequent refills of partly used 60ml carts.

Status summary: Have already made most of the novice/dumba** mistakes, starting with not coming here first!

• Too much idle time for pigment ink printer - plugged nozzles abound.
  • Allowed firmware to update.

I have so far done the following:

• Bought and installed Piezo-flush kit with all 9 carts. Surprisingly, the carts were accepted as valid even with the new firmware for status report and the 1st initial fill sequence.
  • Nozzle check then showed perfect pattern with PF except for the Yellow head, which was missing completely. All carts showed appropriate consumption, except Yellow which was untouched.
  • Gave it the 48 hour soak, and tried to repeat the init-fill. This time the firmware won - called for OEM carts.
  • Went to 2Manuals and got and used the WIC utility and firmware downgrade key. Now running AT26FB (11/2015); carts are recognized, can run utilities EXCEPT init-fill. That still triggers OEM cart error on all positions. Ink levels were still well above 50%. Therefore I am now stuck in place. I am taking up that issue with 2Manuals support, including whether their chipless firmware will have the same problem, and whether only the earliest firmware (AT23F3-2013) tolerates non-OEM carts.

This is where the Topic Heading comes in: if 2Manuals can unlock the init-fill function with either firmware solution, I have to choose in which configuration to run .