No ink coming through external lines on black ink changes

When I change black ink back and forth between matte or photo black on my R3000, no ink comes through the external waste lines. The waste ink is being deposited on the far left platen foam. At least that is what seems to be happening-the foam is saturated. I mop up the foam each time using piezo flush. However, after cleaning the capping station, and starting the printer back up, ink flows freely through the waste system and into the jar. So clogging doesn’t seem to be the problem. Is it normal for the waste ink on black change to not go through the waste system? I think not. I’m hoping you can help. Thanks.

Wow. I have never seen this happen with a printer but have not confirmed with the R3000. (admittedly my background is the wide formats). This may be a “feature” of the R3000 in that MK/PK switches won’t register against your “waste ink tank” limited life-span. The normal waste PK/MK switch on other printers happens on the right and the left pad-and-or-pad/tank is just for when you print full bleed and have waste ink on the edge . . .

Thank you for pointing this out!!!