No ink coming through after replacing head

I’m at my wits’ end and the local Epson repairman is also stumped.

I’ve been using a 9800 since 2006 with very few problems. In June I went to Europe for two weeks and forgot to make arrangements to have the printer run during my absence. When I came back, the LLK nozzles were clogged and remained clogged after multiple attempts at cleaning. My next step was to thoroughly clean the pad on the capping/docking station, then place warm cleaning fluid on it every hour on the hour. At the end of the day I would do a cleaning or two, then a nozzle check. I did this for about three weeks, but the LLK nozzles remained partly clogged, always in the same places. All the other inks were coming through at 100%.

Finally, in desperation, I replaced the LLK damper and removed and cleaned the head by soaking it in a shallow pan of distilled water over a couple of days, renewing the water every hour or so, until the water no longer had any trace of ink. I then re-installed the head and drew ink into all of the dampers with a syringe, from the bottom where the dampers connect to the head. I then did a couple of power cleanings and printed a nozzle check pattern. It was a disaster: very faint with multiple gaps. More puzzling, there was absolutely no ink on the capping pad, which remained pristine white. I then tried printing a purge file, which came through as very faint, bordering on blank. Again, it appeared that no ink was getting through the head. Tried a couple of regular cleanings, nothing. I could hear the pump working and it sounded normal.

So I took the head out of the printer and installed it into another 9800 that I have sitting around for parts. Same result: absolutely no ink coming through. This led me to conclude that the head itself was bad, that I had somehow damaged it in the process of removing and cleaning it.