Ink Spilling into Epson Artisan 1430 + Colour Values Incorrect

Hi everyone,

I have an Epson Artisan 1430, and I just installed a light magenta cartridge from the Complete ConeColor system. This is my first time using third-party inks, and the five other cartridges currently in use are Epson brand.

I was able to fill the cartridge correctly, and my printer recognized the ink right away after installation. After this, I have encountered two major problems…

1. My first test print revealed blobs on the page, as outlined in the FAQ. My second test print had an overall magenta tinge to it. On my third test print this tinge grew stronger. I removed the cartridge and poked around only to discover that the light magenta ink was spilling into my printer, making a mess (see attached photo). I cleaned the ink away with a Q-Tip, and upon reinstallation, the cartridge no longer appears to be leaking.

2. Subsequently, I ran several cleaning cycles, and fired off another test print. This time, the prints are coming out with a bluish tinge which would suggest that the light magenta hue is entirely absent. This is very frustrating, and I am beginning to become nervous that I might ruin my printer by using these cartridges.

Can someone please explain what might possibly be going on here? I run a business selling giclee prints, and today I am supposed to be processing and shipping out orders. I’ve already had to inform my customers that there will be a delay in getting their prints to them. I need to fix this problem as soon as possible… and as I am in Canada, I am frustrated by the fact that I may have to wait up to two weeks for cleaning solution to arrive.

Regards,

Cory

No reply? I would like to fix this situation as soon as possible.