Ink blotches on paper on my Epson 3800

I have been using ConeColor Pro ink in my Epson 3800 for a couple of months now.

All of a sudden, I am getting blotches of ink on my prints. I did a test by drawing a very thin line the full length of a sheet of paper which forces the printer to move the print head across the paper, and then printed it. The image in the link below shows blotches of ink down the right hand side of the print. I have cleaned the printer head, the capping station, and the wiper blades a number of times now, but the problem continues.

You can see the printed page here:
http://www.lawrence-nv.us/4-3/PrinterProblem.jpg

I have contacted an Epson Service Center, and they told me the problem is most likely caused by the third party ink I am using. I am not sure they are correct in their evaluation. They want me to send my printer to them so they can replace the head, but they insist this could happen again because of the third party inks I am using.

I would hate to spend almost $600 only to find I will have the same problem within a couple of months again.

Does anyone have any experience with this problem?
Sincerely,

Lawrence Keeney

Lawrence - Creative Photography LLC

Hi Lawrence~

I’m sorry to hear you’re experiencing ink drips on your paper during printing, and will try my best to help resolve this issue for you.

That is Epson’s typical response, and if someone isn’t using their inks- any issue they experience is blamed on the inks, no matter the actual cause. The 3800 and 3880 refillable cartridge system is one of our most popular products, and we have hundreds of customers happily printing with them for years. We also have a 3800 and 3880 that have been continuously used/tested with several sets of these refillable carts, filled with ConeColor Pro, Piezography and Ink Thrift- all with equally great results.