Help...my R2880 likes PiezoFlush..but not so good with K7 ink!

My R2880 hasn’t had much use as I decided to switch to K7 ink almost immediately after purchase. However it was then left for 2 years…so a bit of fun was had cleaning before it ran well with Jon’s ‘Warm Neutral’ ink, for awhile anyway. However being a photographer, I go away for periods so have had to re-clean it on return. Although to be honest I haven’t always swopped the ink for piezo filled carts when travelling.

It now has decided that it doesn’t really like having ink in it at all and I spend many hours trying to clear that ‘row of ink lights’ whilst it refuses to even do a clean. However it always smiles again when I put my set of PiezoFlush cartridges in, happily cleaning away and switching off those lights. That’s until I drop the ink carts back in… I may then possibly get 1 and a half perfect prints through before it wants to play up again, ink jets blocking and it will start flashing all those ink lights at me again.
Thanks to Dana’s video skills, I’m now well versed in the ‘desktop printer cleaning’ routines and my external ‘Printer Potty’ waste tank is extravagantly full of flushed out ink and Piezoflush.

What further should I do to make this printer allow me to actually make proper prints? It can make beautiful prints when it chooses…but…it’s obvious to me that printers have personalities and I’m not getting this one to stop being petulant.

And by the way, is it better to switch off the mains when leaving it overnight or should I leave it on. Restarting always pumps more ink into that waste tank of course.

David Taylor
Dorset UK

You are sure that your cartridges have their air-inlets unplugged?

This is 2015 ink yah? I’m assuming you have a chip resetter that enables you to top all the carts off and then reset them to full when one goes empty?

Also, yes, keep it on.

Best,
Walker

Hi Walker,