Halos on my PiezoPro Epson 3880

So there are very obvious “halos” on numerous prints coming off of my Epson 3880 using PiezoPro Inks. By halos, I mean noticeable drop offs between lighter areas and their black backgrounds. It’s no longer a smooth graduation but rather a line. I thought something was wrong with the file but when I printed the same file on my standard Epson 3880, the were no halos.

I tried different papers (gloss and matte), different settings, replenished inks, anything I could think of and the problem still exists.

The problem has rendered the printer useless. Anyone have any ideas? I should add that I am not a techie so I am at the mercy of standard profiles and simple, easy to follow directions.

This indicates the head is skewed. You can do a skew test.

best regards,
Walker

Thank you Walker! I will give that a try this afternoon!

So I spent yesterday downloading the maintenance program and setting up the printer on a Windows platform (I’m a Mac user so this took most of the day!).

I have printed out the Print Head Slant (PF) test and have adjusted it as best as possible. I then moved on to the CF adjustment and printed out the test sheet. Now my problem…what the heck am I looking for? The sample photos in the program/maintenance manual do not match the B&W output so I am at a loss in terms of what I am looking for on my test print. I can be dense at times so any help would be greatly appreciated.

if it’s a slant it is carriage feed slant (CF). Basically it prints a line from a channel on the left of the head and a line from a channel on the right. The lines should be equidistant from each other (vertically). If you see no line, print on glossy paper or clear film.
-Walker

Thanks Walker for the quick response. You are the best! I’ll try some glossy paper next.