Flawless printer performance

Flawless printer performance:

I’ve been running carbon and Piezio inks for about 11 years now. I’ve printed enough to be on my 6th Epson 1400/1430. So I’ve had my share of printer problems. The most frustrating problem for me used to be clogged nozzles and trying to get them clean. The head cleaning function wastes a lot of ink and is limited to only a few cleanings at one time.

I normally don’t print every day or every week. This exaggerates the clogged nozzle problem. It is recommended to use the printer often, even if you make just one print. My workflow saves my processed images to a “To Print” folder and I may not actually crank up the printer for a month or two. As a result, I’ve had my share of frustration cleaning the heads and getting the printer to work properly.

But that’s all in the past now. Here’s how I solved it:

When I complete a run of prints and am ready to shut down the printer, I remove the ink cartridges, reinstall the tabs at the back of the cartridges, place them in a plastic bag and store them on the shelf.

I then pull out an extra set of ink cartridges that are filled with PiezioFlush and install them in the printer. I run a small image on copier paper to make sure the PiezoFlush has replaced all the residual ink and then turn off the printer!

When it’s time to print weeks or months later I pull the PiezioFlush carts, grab the ink carts, pull the rear tabs off, fill the ink carts, chip them as full, install them and run a small image to make sure the ink has replaced all the residual PiezioFlush.

I have run this protocol for over a year now and have yet to do a nozzle check or head cleaning. I save on ink, paper and printer longevity. But best part of this system is I look forward to cranking up the printer because I’m 1000% confident I’m going to great prints without hassle or frustration!