First QTR-piezo-prints, first troubles… help needed

(…sorry for my poor english…)

Hi, I’m a Piezography newbie.

My equipment/software:

• Epson R2880 + Warm Tone inks (matte black) + Epson Enhanced Matte Paper
  • Apple notebook / Mac OSX 10.9.4 + calibrated Eizo S2243 (ColorMunki Photo)
  • Phase One Capture One 7 Pro
  • QTR Print Tool 1.1.0

I’ve made some test prints but with bad results and I can’t figure out what has gone wrong.
You can see some explanatory images by clicking here:

Do you have any suggestions?
Many thanks in advance.

you need to install the Quad2880-K7 printer to install Piezography curves. From your screen captures, I can see you have installed the Quad2880 (non-K7 model), which is for Epson inks.
Please delete your Quad2880 printer, and install the Quad2880-K7, then make a test print with a K7 curve and let me know your results.

I hope this helps, best regards~ Dana :slight_smile:

Ok, thank you very much for your help.

Also, your images should have an embedded profile of either Gamma 2.2 or Adobe RGB (1998) for Piezography printing with QTR.

Best regards~ Dana

As you have kindly suggested, I’ve installed the Quad2880-K7 and made some test prints:

Any other advice will be obviously welcome.

I’m also a bit worried about the ink usage on my printer.
I’ve printed only 15 images (A4 format with margin), and five cartridges are almost empty.

Thanks for the additional information. Your print settings all look correct, except you have an embedded profile of “Phase One Gray G2.2”, but I have no experience with this profile and it may be the same as the standard “Gray Gamma 2.2”, though it may be worth converting an image to Gray Gamma 2.2 in Photoshop, then making a small test print to see if it differs.

Other than what I think looks like a slight yellow staining in your highlights (or, is it the paper color I’m seeing?), I think your prints look pretty good, and normal for Piezography output.