Epson Paper Settings - File Color Space

I am brand new to Piezography and getting through the learning curve. Some comments:

• Epson 9890
  • Selenium Ink Set with Glossy and Matte Black
  • Using QTR

I have read the New Piezography Manual and have been able to effectively setup my printer and start printing. At this point I want to ensure I am maximizing performance.

Questions:

• I understand how to setup the settings and curves in QTR and this seems straightforward to me.
    Q: On the Printer, what paper setting are you supposed to use? Lets assume Joe Cone Type 5 for this example.
    - I have been using Epson Premium Glossy paper setting
    - I know these settings impact the amount of ink that is laid down
    - On other system I would create a custom profile and then select that particular paper setting on the User Interface. Should I be doing this with Piezography as well?

• Q: In addition to the simple example above, which curve and which paper type should I be using with the following papers:

1. Ilford Gold Mono Silk
    2. Pictorico High Gloss White Film
  • I process all my files in 16bit ProfotoRGB color space and save as TIFF
    Q: Is this the best practice and file format for feeding into QTR?

Thanks for any feedback you might have. I think these are some trivial settings that I am just overlooking and I want to get the most from the setup. I usually make my own paper profiles using my i2 Pro but I realize Piezography is a bit different.

Mike

Hi Mike~

I assume you’re printing from a Mac, what OS are you using?

When printing thru QuadTone RIP, the Epson driver settings are not available to select, so if you are selecting a media type setting in the Epson driver, then I suspect you’re not choosing your K7 printer model or printing thru QTR correctly.