Epson 3880 suddenly started cranking out blank pages

I am an amateur using the Epson 3880 with Mac OS X Yosemite 10.10.3 and Lightroom 6.01. I have had it for 2 1/2 years and printed about 500 pages, mostly 17x22. Never had a problem, except for an occasional nozzle cleaning. Over the past six months, I have replaced OEM cartridges with Cone refillable cartridges and ink, replacing the chipset as recommended, and it had been working beautifully.

My Epson 3880 suddenly started printing blank pages. When I try to print, the 3880 goes through all the motions: moving the print head back and forth, advancing the paper etc. Except what comes out is blank.

I did various things like re-installing the driver without luck. I then worked through the printer menu. Nozzle check keeps on printing blank. I did Power Clean 3-4 times. Tried Nozzle check again, both with Print and Auto. I had just replace the Maintenance cartridge for the first time a few months ago. Now after all the power cleans, that is full too. I contacted Epson support. They told me that if the power clean did not work, I would need to take it a service shop:

“We will know for certain if the print head is clogged if you are able to run a nozzle check from the control panel of the printer. Menu>Test Print>Nozzle Check>Print. If the nozzle check pattern does not print, we have confirmed that it is either a print head or other hardware problem. In that case, you would need to take the printer (or ship it) to a service center”

At this point I am out of ideas and my guess is that it is not worth the effort to try to lug this to a service center considering how expensive repairs are, relative to a new printer that comes with a set of ink cartridges. Would be a shame though considering that I just finished installing the Cone cartridges.

Any suggestions would be most helpful.
Thank you.

cortlander

Hi Cortlander~

That sounds very frustrating.