EPSON 3880 Bottom 1.5 inches of paper not printing

Yesterday I replaced the Epson Matt Black with the ConeColor Matt Black - Now the bottom 1.5 inches will not print. I did a nozzle check and it looks OK. I did a head cleaning and it is OK and another nozzle check.

Everything was working fine until I changed the Epson Matt Black with ConeColor.

Can you tell me how to fix this? I have a lot of printing to do. I am a photography teacher and the first day of class is Friday. I have my Sylabuss and curriculum for 70 students to print before Friday. Help.

Jim

Hi Jim~

Installing the MK refillable cartridge wouldn’t cause the printer to not print the top 1.5", especially since the nozzle check shows all 8 channels fully printing…

Did you prime the MK refillable cartridge before installing it into your printer?
Is this the first refillable cart that you’ve installed into this printer?
What have you tried printing (text, or an image)?
What is the image and paper size you’ve selected in the print window?
Are you printing thru the standard Epson print driver, or some sort of RIP, etc?
Have you shut down both the printer and computer for a few minutes, then tried printing something different?

Please let me know so I can try to help.
~Dana

Hello Dana,

Sorry for the late response I had to be at the school preparing and setting up the classroom all day. Remember, I am in Germany.

1. I did prime the MK refillable cartridge before installing it in the printer.
  2. This is the second refillable cart that I installed. The first was a Vivid Light Magenta. It installed fine. The only problem is some color shift which we can deal with when this problem is solved
  3. Since I installed the MK refillable, I had to install a Light Light Black LLK refillable cartridge to do a complete set of diagnostics (Nozzle check and Head cleaning). Now 3 ConeColor refillables are installed.
  4. So far, I have printed nothing but text documents since I have had the problem.