Confused Noob - Test refurb printer with OEM inks or not

Hi,

I am a confused Noob to the world of Digital Negative/B&W printing. I am waiting for delivery of a refurbished R3000 printer, and I’ve already received my Deluxe set of Piezography2 Digital Negative and Print System. And I was able to find the chart in the forum on how/where to load the different inks.

My confusion however is in two different instructions for first loading the inks into the never used before printer.

The install procedure given on the web page: http://www.piezography.com/support/2010support/R3000_ink_change.html highly suggests to load OEM inks first, test the printer, flush the printer, then install the Piezography inks.

The instruction sheet that came with the Deluxe kit: “Insert #104, dated 11/10/2014” States in bold print “If using Piezography inks in a new R3000, we recommend NOT installing color to test the printer because it is difficult to eliminate color staining in BW prints”.

So, I am unsure at this point how to proceed.

Also, compounding the issue is the fact that the kit only contained 1 set of carts instead of 2. I have an email in to sales about this. This will make it impossible to flush with PiezoFlush until I get a 2nd set of carts.

I am hoping that Tech Support can recommend the best way to proceed.

Thanks!

Steve

The testing with OEM is to make sure everything is working as expected. Since you want Piezography, assume your printer is good to go and just install the refillables. If things DON’T work, you can always insert the OEM carts to test that before sending it in for repair. I didn’t even bother with the OEM carts in my R2880 and went right to refillables from the get-go. I was able to sell the unopened carts for a decent amount.

Since the R3000 has long ink lines and dampers, it would take a significant amount of ink (and therefore money) to get colors out, especially for the dense colors (Y, VM, C). Probably upwards of 100mL total.