Chip not working on new cart on 4800

I am a newbie trying to get started here. I bought a used pro 4800 that came with near empty epson cartridges, that had been sitting “6 months”, and have purchased the new carts and filled them with piezoflush. Unfortunately I threw out the old epson carts when I put in the new Inkjetmall carts. I am trying to get to complete an initial fill cycle, but yellow cart is giving lots of grief. This is what has happened so far:

1. filled carts with fush and secured chips. Inserted carts. Followed directions for initial ink charge.
  2. Following directions got me to “Self Testing2”, not “maintainance mode 3” like it was supposed to do. So tried the following:
  3. Turning on and off, discovered it was showing yellow cart problems. Chip was missing (I know know it fell inside printer, as it happened again with new chip) . Ordered 2 new yellow chips, and installed after it arrived.
  4. New chip didn’t read. Other carts and maintenance talk (cleaned and reset with chip setter) all show solid black boxes, which is good. Yellow cart shows empty box with diagonal line through it on control panel.
  5. Tried chip resetter, which turned solid green but then seemed to burn out completely. It is dead. Used spare chip, but printer ate it. It was gone when I pulled it out. So put replacement chip back.

Reading relevant threads here, I have tried cardboard wedges under the carts to help assure firm contact between chip and pins. This saved the cyan cart, which was on again off again reading. But it is not working on yellow cart. I have checked the pins inside and as best as I can see, they don’t appear bent.