Black ink comes out gray

Time to be 100% honest.

I am a high school teacher and will be referencing our Epson R3000 printers, of which we have four, two that are 3-4 years old and 2 that are about 8 months old. I purchased the two most recent ones to replace the older ones that were just having so many issues that I didn’t have time to figure them out and had to get my students printing again. The history of my printers is not great, and will probably make your heart sink… Not knowing much about printers, I would let them sit over the summer and then come back the next school year and run a couple of cleanings and they would be good to go. Well my lack of knowledge has caught up with me (hence the purchasing of the two new ones). The two new ones are working fine and hopefully won’t be referencing them but to be 100% honest they are using Marrutt CIS ink systems with ConeColor Pro inks, this was the only solution I could think of to prevent any further “air” issues. I love your inks but had to solve this issue. The old ones are still on your Cartridges, and your inks.

I am pretty sure this thread will continue on so I will name all of the printers so they don’t get confusing. (and since I am on summer break watching Mickey Mouse with my kids right now we will go with those names.
Mickey-Old Printer #1
Minnie-Old Printer #2
Donald-New Printer #3
Daisy-New Printer #4

Come to find out I had a number of issues: the students sitting in the chairs, wouldn’t let me know when the inks were low and I would constantly be getting air in the lines, letting them sit for long periods of time (weeks-months), and did I mention working with TEENAGERS!